AI reference
AI knowledge cutoff dates (updated September 2026)
Last updated September 2026 Β· reviewed monthly Β· every date sourced
Every major AI model is frozen at a knowledge cutoff: the date its training data ends. Below is a current, sourced reference for ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok, DeepSeek, Llama and more, newest models first. Where a provider does not officially publish a cutoff, we say so rather than guess.
Quick answer: Claude Opus 5 leads the published cutoffs at May 2026. Gemini 3.6 and 3.7 Flash follow at March 2026 (Google warns some domains still stop at January 2025), and GPT-5.6 is February 16, 2026. Google released Gemini 3.8 Flash on September 2 but has not published its cutoff. DeepSeek still publishes no cutoff for any model.
Reviewed September 13 against provider model documentation. Unpublished values are labeled instead of estimated. Read the methodology or download the reference as CSV.
Knowledge cutoff dates for every major AI model
The current flagship models, most recent first. Full per-provider tables follow below.
| Model | Knowledge cutoff | Released |
|---|---|---|
| Google Gemini 3.8 Flash | Not published | September 2, 2026Google's newest GA Flash model; no official cutoff is stated |
| Google Gemini 3.7 Flash | March 2026 (January 2025 in some domains) | August 13, 2026 |
| DeepSeek V4-Pro | Not published | August 13, 2026 |
| xAI Grok 4.6 | February 1, 2026 | August 12, 2026the only Grok with a cutoff on xAI's models page |
| Meta Muse Glimmer 30B | January 4, 2026 | August 2026open weights; Meta's Llama line stops at Llama 4 |
| Anthropic Claude Opus 5 | May 2026 | July 24, 2026latest reliable knowledge cutoff in Anthropic's model table |
| OpenAI GPT-5.6 (Sol, Terra, Luna) | February 16, 2026 | July 9, 2026current ChatGPT default; official cutoff shared across the family |
| Anthropic Claude Sonnet 5 | January 2026 | June 30, 2026current default for Claude Free and Pro |
| Cohere Command A+ | April 2025 | May 20, 2026 |
| OpenAI GPT-5.5 | December 2025 | April 23, 2026previous ChatGPT default (May 2026 to August 2026) |
| Google Gemini 3.1 Pro | January 2025 | February 19, 2026 |
| Mistral Large 3 | Not published | December 2, 2025 |
How we verify this reference
- Check the provider's current model card or API documentation first.
- Record the reliable knowledge cutoff when a provider distinguishes it from the training-data cutoff.
- Write βNot publishedβ when the provider gives no date; release dates are not used as substitute cutoffs.
- Review the full table monthly and date the page only after a substantive source check.
The downloadable CSV is designed for researchers and publishers to reuse with attribution. Found a newer primary source? Send it through the feedback control below and we will verify it.
What is a knowledge cutoff?
A knowledge cutoff is the date after which an AI model has no built-in knowledge. The model learned from text collected up to that date and nothing after it. Ask about something newer and the model either admits it does not know, or it runs a live web search (when the product supports browsing) to fill the gap.
That is why a brand, product, or page published after a model's cutoff can be invisible to that model until it either gets fetched by the browsing step or included in the next training run.
Knowledge cutoff vs. training cutoff vs. release date
Three different dates often get confused:
- Training data cutoff β the last date any data was fed into training.
- Reliable knowledge cutoff β the date through which the model answers dependably. It is usually earlier than the training cutoff, because the final months of data are thin. Anthropic, for example, publishes both for Claude; we list the reliable cutoff.
- Release date β when the public could first use the model. This often lands months, sometimes more than a year, after the cutoff.
ChatGPT and OpenAI cutoff dates
ChatGPT's cutoff depends on the model behind it. GPT-5.6 is now the default β Luna for Free and Go accounts, Sol for Plus and Pro β so February 16, 2026 is the cutoff that applies to most ChatGPT users today. GPT-5.5, the previous default, is December 2025. GPT-4o and GPT-4.1 were retired from ChatGPT through late 2025.
| Model | Knowledge cutoff | Released |
|---|---|---|
| GPT-3 | October 2019 | June 2020inferred from the training data, not officially stated |
| GPT-3.5 Turbo | September 2021 | March 1, 2023 |
| GPT-4 | September 2021 | March 14, 2023the current default gpt-4 alias resolves to a December 1, 2023 snapshot |
| GPT-4 Turbo | December 2023 | Nov 2023 (GA Apr 2024)OpenAI's GA materials cite April 2024; trackers cite December 2023 |
| GPT-4o | October 2023 | May 13, 2024 |
| GPT-4.1 | June 2024 | April 14, 2025 |
| o1 | October 2023 | December 5, 2024 |
| o3 | June 2024 | April 16, 2025 |
| o4-mini | June 2024 | April 16, 2025 |
| GPT-5 | September 2024 | August 7, 2025mini and nano variants: May 2024 |
| GPT-5.1 | September 2024 | November 12, 2025 |
| GPT-5.2 | August 2025 | December 11, 2025 |
| GPT-5.4 | August 31, 2025 | March 5, 2026 |
| GPT-5.5 | December 2025 | April 23, 2026ChatGPT default from May 2026 until GPT-5.6 replaced it in August 2026 |
| GPT-5.6 (Sol, Terra, Luna) | February 16, 2026 | July 9, 2026current ChatGPT default; official cutoff shared across the family (June 26 was a gated preview) |
Source: OpenAI platform model docs.
Claude (Anthropic) cutoff dates
Anthropic lists two dates per model. The values below are the reliable knowledge cutoff (the more conservative, dependable date); the training cutoff is typically a few months later.
| Model | Knowledge cutoff | Released |
|---|---|---|
| Claude 3 (Haiku, Sonnet, Opus) | August 2023 | March 2024 |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet | April 2024 | June 2024 |
| Claude 3.5 Haiku | July 2024 | November 2024 |
| Claude 3.7 Sonnet | October 2024 | February 2025 |
| Claude Opus 4 / Sonnet 4 | March 2025 | May 2025 |
| Claude Opus 4.1 | January 2025 | August 2025 |
| Claude Sonnet 4.5 | January 2025 | September 2025 |
| Claude Haiku 4.5 | February 2025 | October 2025 |
| Claude Opus 4.5 | May 2025 | November 2025 |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | May 2025 | February 5, 2026 |
| Claude Sonnet 4.6 | August 2025 | February 17, 2026training data runs to January 2026; the reliable cutoff is earlier |
| Claude Opus 4.7 | January 2026 | April 16, 2026 |
| Claude Opus 4.8 | January 2026 | May 28, 2026 |
| Claude Fable 5 | January 2026 | June 9, 2026 |
| Claude Sonnet 5 | January 2026 | June 30, 2026current default for Claude Free and Pro |
| Claude Opus 5 | May 2026 | July 24, 2026Anthropic's newest published reliable knowledge cutoff |
Source: Anthropic model cards.
Gemini (Google) cutoff dates
Google did not publish official cutoffs for the Gemini 1.0 and 1.5 generations. From 2.0 onward the dates are documented, though Google Cloud and AI Studio docs sometimes disagree by a month or two.
| Model | Knowledge cutoff | Released |
|---|---|---|
| Gemini 1.0 | Not published | December 2023 |
| Gemini 1.5 Pro | Not published | February 2024 |
| Gemini 1.5 Flash | Not published | May 2024 |
| Gemini 2.0 Flash | August 2024 | Dec 2024 (GA Feb 2025)Vertex docs cite June 2024 |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro | January 2025 | March 2025 |
| Gemini 2.5 Flash | January 2025 | April 2025 |
| Gemini 3 Pro | January 2025 | November 18, 2025 |
| Gemini 3 Flash | January 2025 | December 2025open preview; cutoff per the Gemini 3 Pro model card, not stated separately |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro | January 2025 | February 19, 2026 |
| Gemini 3.5 Flash | January 2025 | May 19, 2026 |
| Gemini 3.6 Flash | March 2026 (January 2025 in some domains) | July 21, 2026both dates are Google's own: the model card names March 2026, the Gemini 3 guide still says January 2025 |
| Gemini 3.7 Flash | March 2026 (January 2025 in some domains) | August 13, 2026same two-date wording as the 3.6 Flash card |
| Gemini 3.8 Flash | Not published | September 2, 2026current generally-available Flash model; Google publishes its release date but not a knowledge cutoff |
Source: Google Gemini API docs.
Grok (xAI) cutoff dates
xAI publishes cutoffs for some Grok versions but not others. Grok leans heavily on live data from X, so its effective recency is often newer than its stated cutoff.
| Model | Knowledge cutoff | Released |
|---|---|---|
| Grok-1 | October 2023 | November 2023 |
| Grok-2 | Not published | August 2024 |
| Grok-3 | November 2024 | February 17, 2025 |
| Grok 4 | November 2024 | July 9, 2025 |
| Grok 4.1 | Not published | November 17, 2025 |
| Grok 4.20 | Not published | March 10, 2026 |
| Grok 4.3 | December 2025 | April 2026beta |
| Grok 4.5 | Not published | July 16, 2026 |
| Grok 4.6 | February 1, 2026 | August 12, 2026xAI's newest model and the only one with a cutoff on its models page |
Source: xAI model docs.
DeepSeek cutoff dates
DeepSeek does not officially state knowledge cutoffs for any model. Each model's data ends shortly before its release date, listed below. Some third-party API resellers advertise an βApril 2026β cutoff for V4-Pro; that figure appears nowhere in DeepSeek's own documentation and looks inferred from the release date, so we do not repeat it.
| Model | Knowledge cutoff | Released |
|---|---|---|
| DeepSeek-V2 | Not published | May 2024 |
| DeepSeek-V3 | Not published | December 26, 2024 |
| DeepSeek-R1 | Not published | January 20, 2025 |
| DeepSeek-V3.1 | Not published | August 21, 2025 |
| DeepSeek-V3.2 | Not published | December 1, 2025 |
| DeepSeek-V4 | Not published | April 24, 2026preview launch of the V4 family |
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash | Not published | July 31, 2026 |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro | Not published | August 13, 2026GA release of the V4 Pro tier |
Source: DeepSeek API change log.
Meta and Mistral cutoff dates
Meta's current models ship under the Muse name rather than Llama; the Llama line stops at Llama 4 in April 2025. Meta publishes a cutoff for Muse Glimmer but not for Muse Spark. Mistral still publishes no cutoff for any model.
| Model | Knowledge cutoff | Released |
|---|---|---|
| Llama 3 (8B) | March 2023 | April 2024 |
| Llama 3 (70B) | December 2023 | April 2024 |
| Llama 3.1 | December 2023 | July 2024 |
| Llama 3.3 (70B) | December 2023 | December 2024 |
| Llama 4 (Scout, Maverick) | August 2024 | April 5, 2025 |
| Muse Spark (1.0, 1.1, 1.2) | Not published | April 8, 20261.1 shipped July 9, 2026 and 1.2 on August 5, 2026 |
| Muse Glimmer 30B | January 4, 2026 | August 2026open weights; Meta publishes the cutoff on the model card |
| Model | Knowledge cutoff | Released |
|---|---|---|
| Mixtral 8x7B | Not published | December 2023 |
| Mistral Large 2 | Not published | July 2024 |
| Mistral Small 3.x | Not published | 2025 |
| Ministral 3 (3B, 8B, 14B) | Not published | December 2, 2025 |
| Mistral Large 3 | Not published | December 2, 2025 |
| Mistral Small 4 | Not published | March 16, 2026 |
| Mistral Medium 3.5 | Not published | April 28, 2026 |
Sources: Meta Llama model cards and Mistral model docs. Mistral does not publish cutoffs.
Copilot, Perplexity, Amazon Nova and Cohere cutoff dates
Some products do not have their own cutoff. Microsoft Copilot inherits the cutoff of whichever model is behind it β GPT-5.6 by default in Microsoft 365 Copilot since July 2026, though Claude has been selectable since June 2026. Perplexity answers from live web search on top of its models and publishes no cutoff. Amazon used to decline to state one, but now publishes a knowledge cutoff on the Bedrock model cards for Nova.
| Model | Knowledge cutoff | Released |
|---|---|---|
| Microsoft Copilot | Inherits its underlying model | runs GPT-5.6 (M365, July 2026)no separate Copilot cutoff is published; Claude is also selectable since June 2026, so the cutoff depends on the model you pick |
| Perplexity Sonar / Sonar Pro | Not published | January 2025answers from live web search; the Sonar API is legacy and retires September 27, 2026 |
| Amazon Nova (Micro, Lite, Pro) | October 2024 | December 5, 2024AWS now publishes a cutoff on the Bedrock model cards; Nova Premier retires September 14, 2026 |
| Amazon Nova 2 Lite | October 2025 | December 2, 2025 |
| Cohere Command A | June 2024 | March 13, 2025 |
| Cohere Command A Reasoning | June 2024 | August 2025 |
| Cohere Command A+ | April 2025 | May 20, 2026 |
Which AI models can search the web in real time?
A cutoff is not the whole story. ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Microsoft Copilot, and Grok can all fetch live web results, which lets them answer about events after their cutoff. But browsing only fires for some queries. For everything else the model falls back on its trained knowledge, and even when it browses, what it chooses to trust is shaped by what it learned before the cutoff. So the cutoff still matters for how your brand is understood, even on a model that can browse. For exact controls, citations, and retrieval behavior, compare our guides to how ChatGPT searches and cites the web, how Claude searches the web, how Gemini uses Google Search grounding, how Microsoft Copilot uses Bing grounding, and how DeepSeek Search retrieves and cites pages.
Why knowledge cutoffs matter for your AI visibility
If your brand, product, or a key page launched after a model's cutoff, that model has no memory of it. It will answer as if you do not exist, recommend competitors it does know, or describe an outdated version of you. Because every engine has a different cutoff and a different browsing behavior, the only way to know how you actually show up is to check each one.
That is what FixAEO's free AI visibility checker does: it scans how major AI search engines describe and recommend your brand, so you can see the gaps a cutoff leaves and fix them. To watch it change over time, track how each AI engine ranks your brand. See also why ChatGPT doesn't recommend your brand and the best AI search engines guide.
Frequently asked questions
What is a knowledge cutoff in AI?
A knowledge cutoff is the date after which an AI model has no built-in information. The model was trained on text gathered up to that date, so it has not memorized anything published afterwards. Ask about an event from after the cutoff and the model either says it does not know, or it searches the web (if the product supports browsing) to answer.
What is ChatGPT's knowledge cutoff date?
It depends on the model behind ChatGPT. GPT-5.6 is now the default β Luna for Free and Go accounts, Sol for Plus and Pro β and it has a February 16, 2026 cutoff, so that is the date that applies to most ChatGPT users today. GPT-5.5, the previous default, has a December 2025 cutoff. GPT-5.2 has August 2025, GPT-5 has September 2024, GPT-4o has October 2023, and the original GPT-4 had September 2021. ChatGPT can also browse the web, so current answers may use live results.
What is GPT-5.5's knowledge cutoff date?
GPT-5.5 has a December 2025 knowledge cutoff and was released on April 23, 2026. It was the default ChatGPT model from May 2026 until GPT-5.6 took over in August 2026, so it is still the cutoff that applied to most ChatGPT answers for much of 2026.
What is GPT-4o's knowledge cutoff date?
GPT-4o has an October 2023 knowledge cutoff and was released on May 13, 2024. OpenAI began retiring GPT-4o from ChatGPT in late 2025 in favor of the GPT-5 series.
When was GPT-4 released?
GPT-4 was released on March 14, 2023. Its original training cutoff was September 2021. The default gpt-4 alias in the API now resolves to a newer snapshot with a knowledge cutoff around December 2023.
What is Claude's knowledge cutoff date?
It varies by version. Claude Opus 5 has a May 2026 reliable knowledge cutoff, while Claude Sonnet 5 and Claude Fable 5 have January 2026 cutoffs. Claude 3.5 Sonnet had April 2024, and Claude 3 had August 2023. We list Anthropic's reliable knowledge cutoff rather than its later training-data cutoff.
What is Claude Opus 4.8's knowledge cutoff date?
Claude Opus 4.8 has a January 2026 reliable knowledge cutoff and was released on May 28, 2026. Claude Fable 5 and Claude Sonnet 5 share that January 2026 cutoff, while Claude Opus 5 advances the reliable cutoff to May 2026.
What is Gemini's cutoff date?
It depends which Gemini. Google released Gemini 3.8 Flash on September 2, 2026 but has not published its knowledge cutoff. Google's model cards give Gemini 3.6 and 3.7 Flash a March 2026 cutoff, while warning that some domains still stop at January 2025. The Pro line (Gemini 2.5 Pro, 3 Pro, and 3.1 Pro) carries a January 2025 cutoff. Gemini can also use Google Search grounding for current answers.
What is Grok 4's knowledge cutoff date?
Grok 4 has a November 2024 knowledge cutoff and was released on July 9, 2025. xAI's newest model, Grok 4.6 (August 12, 2026), publishes a February 1, 2026 cutoff β the only one stated on xAI's models page. Grok 4.3 carries a December 2025 cutoff, and xAI has not published one for Grok 4.1 or Grok 4.5. Grok also searches the live web and X by default, so it can answer about events after its cutoff.
What is DeepSeek's knowledge cutoff date?
DeepSeek does not officially publish knowledge cutoffs for its models. DeepSeek-V3 shipped in December 2024, R1 in January 2025, and V4 in April 2026, so each model's data ends shortly before its release, but the company has not stated exact cutoff dates.
What is Perplexity's knowledge cutoff date?
Perplexity does not publish a knowledge cutoff for any Sonar model. Sonar answers from live web search rather than memory, so for most questions the cutoff matters far less than it does for a chat model answering offline. Note that the Sonar Chat Completions API is now legacy and retires on September 27, 2026, replaced by Perplexity's Agent API.
What is the difference between a knowledge cutoff and a training data cutoff?
The training data cutoff is the last date that any data was included in training. The reliable knowledge cutoff is the date through which the model answers dependably, which is usually earlier because the most recent months are thin and less reliable. Release date is different again: it is when the public could first use the model, typically several months to over a year after the cutoff.
Which AI model has the most recent knowledge cutoff?
As of September 2026, Anthropic Claude Opus 5 has the most recent published reliable cutoff at May 2026. Google's Gemini 3.6 and 3.7 Flash follow at March 2026, though Google warns that some domains still stop at January 2025. Google released Gemini 3.8 Flash in September but did not publish its cutoff. OpenAI GPT-5.6 is February 16, 2026 and xAI Grok 4.6 is February 1, 2026. These dates move as new models ship, so we review the source documents monthly.
Does web browsing make the knowledge cutoff irrelevant?
Not entirely. When a model browses the web (as ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Copilot, and Grok can), it can answer questions about events after its cutoff. But browsing only fires for some queries, the model still leans on its trained knowledge for everything else, and its judgment about what to trust is shaped by what it learned before the cutoff. The cutoff still matters for how a brand is understood.
Why does the same question get different answers on different AI models?
Different cutoffs are a big reason. A model trained through January 2026 knows about products, funding rounds, and rebrands that a model frozen at October 2023 has never seen. The models also differ in training data, retrieval behavior, and how confidently they answer, so the same prompt produces different results across ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, and the rest.
What happens if my content was published after a model's cutoff date?
A model with an earlier cutoff has no memory of it. Until that content is either picked up by the model's web-browsing step or included in a future training run, the model answers as if your content does not exist. This is exactly why newer brands and pages struggle to get mentioned by AI engines, and why tracking your visibility across engines matters.
How do I get AI models to know about recent information?
Three levers. First, publish content that browsing-enabled models can fetch live (clean pages, an llms.txt, fast load). Second, build the third-party signals (reviews, mentions, structured data) that models trust. Third, monitor which engines actually mention you, since each has a different cutoff and retrieval behavior. FixAEO's free AI visibility checker shows where you stand across major AI search engines.
How often do AI companies update their model knowledge cutoffs?
Every few months. The major labs ship a new flagship model two to four times a year, and each one usually advances the cutoff. Because this is a fast-moving, current-facts topic, we review and update this page monthly.